About Us and Partners

The Suffolk Armed Forces Community Covenant is one of many such pledges established across the UK over the last 5 years. These 'covenants' include local councils, statutory agencies and voluntary and charity sector organisations that effectively represent the local community.

To oversee this pledge in Suffolk the Suffolk Military Covenant Working Group (board) has been formed. This includes representation from local military units, military welfare and veteran support agencies, local charities and council officers. Representatives meet 3 times a year.

The practical actions of the covenant are coordinated and monitored by the Suffolk Military Covenant Task Force. This includes Military Liaison Officers (tasked by 7th Infantry Brigade & HQ East) and Suffolk County Council Officers. They too meet three times a year between the Working Group (board) meetings.

Below is a list of local Armed Forces Champions:

Local Authority Armed Forces POC in Council (Full Time Employee) Name Armed Forces POC in Council (Full Time Employee) Email Armed Forces Champion in Council Name  Armed Forces Champion in Council Email 
Suffolk County Council Jim Brown jim.brown@suffolk.gov.uk Cllr Robin Vickery robin.vickery@suffolk.gov.uk
Babergh District Council Laura Bullard laura.bullard@baberghmidsuffolk.gov.uk
Cllr Margaret Maybury margaret.maybury@babergh.gov.uk
Forest Heath District Council Davina Howes davina.howes@westsuffolk.gov.uk Cllr Robin Miller robin.millar@westsuffolk.gov.uk 
Ipswich Borough Council Christine Christensen christine.christensen@ipswich.gov.uk Cllr Alasdair Ross Alasdair.Ross@councillors.ipswich.gov.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council Laura Bullard laura.bullard@baberghmidsuffolk.gov.uk
Cllr Julie Flatman julie.flatman@midsuffolk.gov.uk
St Edmundsbury Borough Council Davina Howes davina.howes@westsuffolk.gov.uk Cllr Robert Everitt robert.everitt@westsuffolk.gov.uk
Suffolk Coastal District Council Paul Grant paul.grant@suffolkcoastal.gov.uk Cllr Ray Herring ray.herring@suffolkcoastal.gov.uk
Waveney District Council Richard Best richard.best@eastsuffolk.gov.uk Cllr Stephen Ardley stephen.ardley@waveney.gov.uk